Sunshine

We’ve had the most amazing sunshine for the past four days. Somehow, mum only manages to see the best of English weather, every time she visits. So when I complain for the rest of the year about how awful it is, she doesn’t really believe me.

Today we had a picnic on Clapham Common, complete with miniature Jubilee cupcakes from M&S. When I saw them in the shop, I realised that no picnic would be complete without them.

We had to take a blanket to sit on, as our picnic blanket is a leftover from B’s single life, and is only big enough for one person. I’m well accustomed to single life myself – I don’t flinch at going to the cinema, galleries, museums or even eating out alone. But the thought of the Picnic Blanket for One makes me wither a little inside.

Here are my two favourite people at our local pub yesterday. The hat is making B look at bit menacing in this photo, as if he’s about to leap over the table and steal mum’s handbag.


2 comments

  1. Sounds idyllic. I’m so buying those cupcakes! Top tip.

  2. You’re right about the hat making B looking menacing… But he has spent over a year south of the river so I suppose it was inevitable… He’ll be getting gang tattoos next.

Leave a Reply

