Dad

I’ve been thinking about my dad a lot lately. He’s one of the many people in Australia that I miss, especially with everything that is going on at the moment. I’ve discovered that living so far away from family is all well and good, when nothing is going wrong.

I see my dad when I visit Australia, which isn’t as often as I’d like. He can’t really travel as he has heart failure, but I think that’s a restriction that suits him just fine.

I know he has read some of this blog, as someone in the household has printed the posts out for him. I find it amusing (but not surprising) that he needs it printed on paper, rather than walking over to the computer to read it on the screen.

My dad is far more at home in the garden or at the BBQ than at a computer. He still uses the early 90s term ‘information super-highway’ to this day. Here are a few of my favourite dad & technology moments.

After trying, and failing, to get him to open an email account after retirement:

Me: You can’t abandon modern communications, modern society, just because you’re retired!
Dad: Yes, I can. I have!

When trying to think of something to buy him for his birthday:

Me: Maybe you could have a look online?
Dad: I’ve had a look. There’s nothing I want.

Here’s dad in his comfort zone.

5 comments

  1. Melissa · · Reply

    Hahahaaa love it. He’ll be chuffed to be immortalized on the information super-highway. Might even get him on to the ’email system’!

    1. Ah yes I forgot that – the ’email system’! đŸ™‚

  2. It’s that bally inter wild web thingy!

  3. Sue Osborne · · Reply

    Love this Jill – I have printed it for him to read …. haha!

  4. Discussing this with dad this morning: Me – ‘did you know Jill wrote a blog post about you?’ Dad – ‘Yes, I read it’. Me – ‘On a print out of course’. Dad – ‘of course! That way I can go back and read it again you see’. :))

Leave a Reply

