Dallas

Lately, my life feels a bit like a soap opera – dramatic events, constantly waiting for the next stage of the saga, spontaneous tears etc.

I’ve been reading about the return of Dallas, soon to be airing in the UK. I’m looking forward to seeing it. I’m not ashamed to admit that I love the original show, and own several series on DVD.

At the moment I could be living in a series of Dallas where Bobby gets a brain tumour. He developed it after visiting one of the Ewing oil rigs, because JR introduced a toxic chemical to the refinery process to save the company some cash. This is actually a plausible plotline for that show.

Clearly I’m Pamela in this scenario, although in truth I’m more like Sue Ellen.

Note: Readers unfamiliar with shoulder pad power soaps from the 1970s and 80s will have no idea what I’m talking about. You probably realise that I write this blog purely for my own entertainment, so you’ll have to bear with me.

The end-of-season cliffhanger left viewers with the image of Bobby being wheeled into brain surgery. Will he make it?

Of course Bobby did make it through the surgery and into a new series to begin on Monday (dominated by radiotherapy and chemotherapy).

I, for one, will be staying tuned for future developments. Or, in true Dallas style, perhaps I’m going to wake up and find that this whole experience has been a dream?

2 comments

  1. Yes, this is the funniest thing about Dallas – a one year long dream. :)))

    I am glad that soaps will probably always have a happy end!

    1. An entire series! Brilliant. You must have watched it to hone your acting skills?

Leave a Reply

