Run

On September 8th I’m competing in the South London 5k Run, to raise money for the Brainstrust charity.

Those who know me well will be shocked by this. For my entire adult life I have shunned outdoor exercise. I only exercise at all in order to prevent myself expanding into some sort of blimplike creature, which can easily happen at my age when you like food as much as I do.

Our Haus is equipped with a treadmill, positioned in front of a wall-mounted TV for optimal viewing of Sky and Netflix.

Why would I venture outdoors, and be forced to deal with the horror of these elements?

  • weather
  • traffic
  • dogs
  • pedestrians
  • uneven surfaces

I always feel sorry for the poor people I see running around Clapham Common. I assume they cannot afford their own treadmill.

Gyms are almost as unpleasant as the outdoors:

  • r&b music
  • sweaty strangers
  • queuing to use machines
  • annoying staff
  • high cost and inflexible contracts

However, I am prepared to venture outdoors just this once, in order to raise some money for Brainstrust. This charity provides a great service for brain tumour sufferers and their families, and have given us much needed advice and support over the past few months.

Preparing for the run will also help to ensure that I can still fit into my wedding dress in 6 weeks time without the aid of a corset, so it serves a dual purpose.

If you would like to support me with a small donation, here is my JustGiving page.

6 comments

  1. Good luck with the training. Have you seen the couch to 5k programme? Its by coolrunning.com but the NHS also push it, http://www.nhs.uk/LiveWell/c25k/Pages/couch-to-5k.aspx

    1. Thanks, I will check it out. I’m not quite at couch level, I can do 3 miles in half an hour by running 4 minutes, walking 1 minute (x 6). Need to gradually take out the walking…

  2. megan crawford · · Reply

    Don’t forget running outside harder than running on tready and from what my running gurus tell me at school it’s a different foot movement…make sure you get some outside practice cuz and good for you!!

  3. Good Luck x 🙂

  4. […] finished Saturday’s 5k run in 34 minutes. Not brilliant, but I did manage to complete it without any walking, which was my […]

  5. […] 5km run I’m doing for the Brainstrust charity is only 4 days […]

Leave a Reply

