Anniversary

It is 2 years today since I first met B.

We met after emailing each other on a dating site. I spied him and sent him a message.

I had dabbled in online dating on and off for a year or so. I wouldn’t say it was the greatest year of my life. There was the guy who lied about his height (he was shorter than me, and I’m 5ft 2), the date that involved a KFC bargain bucket, and the chap who put my hand on his crotch in the middle of a busy bar. Good times. Still, I got some free dinners out of it (I don’t include the bargain bucket).

I was B’s first online date. I’ve always thought that I should have made him go on some further dates, to experience the full horror, with me sitting a few tables away. I would have whisked him out the door if anyone showed potential.

We met for a drink on a Bank Holiday Monday and hit it off immediately, helped by a few glasses of wine (we’re both quite shy). After that we emailed, met for lunch in the city on the Wednesday, then spent the weekend together and have been inseparable since.

Some readers of the blog have expressed admiration that I’ve ‘stuck around’ through everything that has happened. I’ve never thought there was any other option. We’re in this together.

I admit that I would be in a pretty dreadful position if I had just been waiting for the right moment to say ‘it’s not you, it’s me’ (George Costanza-style). There is no respectable way to leave a relationship after a brain tumour has entered the scene. Whichever way you look at it, you’d be a complete heel.

Similarly, B could be ‘stuck’ with me even if he wasn’t keen. Like it or not, he does need me now, so it’s a bonus that he likes me.

B sometimes jokes that I would never have contacted him if he’d known about the tumour. It would have been difficult to keep it a secret.

‘Sorry about that, small seizure there. Happens when I get excited’
‘What cocktail of drugs? Vitamins. I like to keep healthy’
‘Impressive scar, isn’t it? I got glassed at a pub in Elephant & Castle. You should see the other guy’

Fortunately, though, things happened in the right order. I’m just as keen on him now as I was 2 years ago. I still feel lucky to have met him.

To celebrate, we’re going toΒ Galvin at Windows on Sunday for a posh lunch.

7 comments

  1. Happy Anniversary of meeting! πŸ™‚

  2. Congratulations – I am happy for you!

  3. Tatielane · · Reply

    How wonderful! You’ve packed a lot into your two years so far. Here’s to plenty more. Congratulations.

  4. megan crawford · · Reply

    And then you’re GETTING MARRIED!!!! Congrats you two xox

  5. Kathleen Ferry · · Reply

    Congratulations, the best is yet to come,…..think of all the future anniversaries to be celebrated in Londons finest, maybe you should make a list!
    xxxx

  6. Another great post! And just the other day I was helping to boost a client’s confidence about giving internet dating a go, and you’re proof that it can work, with a bit of perseverance! Congrats πŸ™‚

  7. Happy Anniversary. You are one of the lucky couples, that just click. Awesome. Kat πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

