Fast

Like many women, I’m continually gaining and losing the same few kilograms. A while ago (at the top end) I thought I’d like to have another go at losing them, but frankly I couldn’t be bothered. That was the end of that, you might think.

Then I happened to see a Horizon program on the benefits of Intermittent Fasting. I decided to give it a go, as I am easily led and susceptible to modern trends broadcast on TV (hence my vajazzle experiment of 2010, but I won’t go there).

After doing some research into it, I decided to fast one day a week (rather than two as advised in the program). For the past month I have consumed nothing except water and herbal tea for the 24 hours between dinner on Thursday and dinner on Friday.

For the rest of the week I’ve eaten normally – my usual diet is healthy but not restrictive. I exercise 4-5 days a week, but not on fast day. Exercise doesn’t usually cause much weight loss by itself for me. I have to cut right back on nice food too.

Fasting day has been surprisingly easy. I haven’t really felt all that hungry. I think a lot of Western people think the sky will fall in if they miss a meal, but it appears not to be the case. At first my stomach felt a bit strange when I had dinner on Friday. Not surprising, as before this I don’t think I’d skipped a meal since I was old enough to get food for myself.

Now I find I’ve dropped 3kg, without feeling as if I’ve made much of an effort at all. I’m sure it’s not for everyone, but for me it’s been an interesting alternative to watching and counting what I eat all the time, which I consider a bit of a drag.

I won’t pretend, either, that the medical research into Intermittent Fasting as a means to prevent cancer and prolong life were the reasons behind me taking it up. It’s all about the flab.

I’m of the opinion that if you avoid the major factors like obesity and smoking, cancer is often just a matter of bad luck. Some even believe that nowadays, it’s inevitable – not a matter of whether you will get cancer, but when. Bad luck, the subject of yesterday’s post, can also bring any of us down at any time. You could spend your life eating a raw food diet (bleurgh) and then get hit by a bus at the age of 25.

I’m not all that sure I want to live until I’m 100 either. I’m jaded enough at 38 – what on earth would I be like in 62 years time? I wouldn’t want to inflict that on the world. Best that I slip off quietly much earlier. But in the meantime, there’s no need to let myself go.

Leave a Reply

