Noro

norovirus

Right after my last post in which I wished for good things in the New Year, fate bit me in the ass (literally, it felt like) by dispensing a bout of the norovirus. I felt suspiciously odd on Tuesday after an alcohol-free New Year’s Eve. I can just imagine the cruel voice of the universe: ‘So you thought you’d have a sprightly and energetic New Year’s Day for the first time ever? Think again!’

There followed a miserable few days. Miraculously, B doesn’t have it (yet).

You might assume that as the person in the household without cancer I have forfeited my right to sympathy over a minor ailment such as this, but it isn’t so. B has been fetching beverages, plumping pillows and being his usual considerate, caring self. I can just imagine my own behaviour if the tables were turned.

‘Will it kill you?’
‘No’

‘How long will it last?’
‘A few days’

‘Correct! You seem to have forgotten that I have CANCER! You have NOTHING! Now quit your snivelling and get me a green tea’

I feel a bit healthier today but not completely normal. My lack of patience for bland foods doesn’t help. Clear soup and dry toast be damned! The moment I feel even slightly better I eat something like a slice of toast with butter and jam which inevitably sends me straight back to the bathroom. Last night I spied some leftover buffalo mozzarella in the fridge and thought that seemed like a good idea. It was not.

toast

One comment

  1. Get well soon xxx

Leave a Reply

