Cracked

cracked

That’s what happened last night – I cracked. It’s widely reported that this is the most depressing time of the year and I’m feeling it. I worked 4 long days this week to finish a project, and twice had to catch a bus due to tube problems. It’s been snowy and icy. My youngest sister had her second baby on Monday which is lovely, but it makes me feel very far away from family.

Last night I had a long, cold bus journey then a long walk home. I struggled out of my coat, boots, scarf, gloves and ear muffs, said hello to B, and then it happened. It went something like this:

“I’m so bloody sick of being cold all the time! I’m tired of walking hunched up against the cold and rain and snow and putting on and taking off all these goddamn layers! This time last year we were getting ready to go to Australia but now we won’t go there for ages and I won’t see my baby nephew for such a long time and I’m sick of scheduling and working out the time difference whenever I want to talk to anyone in my family and it’s Australia Day tomorrow and you have cancer and I hate England!”

Then I had a cry. B wisely stood quietly and proffered tissues and hugs at the appropriate time. Then he made me dinner. Then I wanted chocolate but we had none so he went out to get some. Then I had tea and chocolate and felt slightly better.

5 comments

  1. Better out than in Jill, it does us all good to let off steam once in a while or you wouldn’t be human. Hugs to you both xxx

  2. ((((Jill))))
    xxxx

  3. Keep your pecker up. Britain’s not the best place to be in a cold winter but I’m sure you’ll find some reasons to be cheerful soon.

  4. Sorry but made me laugh…been there done that! Lets go onwards and upwards!
    Gillian x

  5. […] My last post had an unexpected effect. […]

Leave a Reply

