Slump

handcuffed

B has now been back at work for 5 half days. He’s caught up on who’s joined the company, who’s left, who’s been arrested (he does know someone who is now being detained at Her Majesty’s Pleasure, it is financial services after all). He seems to be coping well so far, although a few times he’s been exhausted the day afterwards. This week he’s working 3 half days so we’ll see how that goes.

It’s now almost 5 weeks since my foot surgery and I find myself in a bit of a slump. Over the past month I’ve progressed from being resigned to the period of rest, to being furious about it, to not wanting to leave the house even when I can.

Sleep continues to be an issue for both of us. I suggested that B keep a ‘sleep and headache diary’ to show his occupational therapist when he is re-assessed next week. It contains the columns: Date, Work day Y/N, Tiredness, Sleeping pill Y/N, Trouble getting to sleep Y/N, Woke up in the middle of the night Y/N, Overall sleep quality, Headache Y/N, Headache length/severity, Paracetamol taken Y/N.

‘Tiredness’ selections are in keeping with B’s tendency to be succinct: Not tired, Tired, Very tired.

It should probably also contain Presence of wife Y/N. That has been N most nights recently as I’ve been sleeping in the spare bedroom upstairs. My sleep pattern is all over the place. The more we sleep apart, the more I marvel that it worked for so long. How can two people feel tired at the same time and prefer the same temperature, quilt thickness, light and noise levels etc? For some reason, when I’m anxious my feet get really  hot at night. Boiling. What’s that all about?

I’ve also been having some dreams that David Lynch would be proud of. A few nights ago I dreamed that B came to me when he was getting ready for work and asked ‘What’s this on my head?’ I had a look and there was an indentation right on the top, with a stem and leaves protruding from it. Like an apple. I was slightly perturbed and suggested we make our way to an NHS walk-in centre. Unfortunately I woke up at that point so I can’t tell you what the medical profession made of it.

apple

One comment

  1. I am adding your link to our blog (it’s tiny but i hope it will help others with brain cancer or tumors) – we’re nearly 30 years married and I have to get to know him all over again (sometimes daily) your journey seems to be going well but feel free to reach out if you need an ear: http://brain-cancer-chronicles.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

