Merry Christmas!

brain_christmas

It’s been absolutely ages since I last posted. In the world of brain tumours this means things are either very good or very bad – I’m happy to report that in our case it’s the former.

With Christmas and the end of 2013 fast approaching, it’s time to recognise the highlights of our year:

  • B finished his chemotherapy
  • B returned to work 3 days a week after a year off due to his illness (I know he is pleased about this, despite his claim that ‘the novelty has worn off’)
  • We spent time with all of our family, in Germany and Australia
  • We celebrated our first wedding anniversary
  • We both turned 40 (you may doubt that this qualifies as a highlight but what’s the alternative – not making it to 40?)

I’m looking forward to Christmas which will be a quiet, small affair – just me & B. I miss family at this time of year but at the same time I don’t envy those who are obliged to race from relative to relative between bites of turkey.

I also feel a tinge of sadness as I do at all ‘events’ since B’s diagnosis – the thought ‘how many Christmasses do we have left?’ starts to creep in. At which point I tell myself ‘Get a grip, Osborne. None of us know how many Christmasses we have left’. It’s probabaly not a good yardstick by which to measure a happy life either. After a few more days of stodgy mince pies, tepid festive TV ‘specials’, The Pogues ‘Fairytale of New York’ (my most hated Christmas song) and ceaseless ads for celebrity-branded perfume, B and I will be wishing we had fewer Christmasses left, not more.

Merry Christmas!

2 comments

  1. What a cool, yet creepy, ornament! 🙂 HAH, I love it. All the best.

  2. Such an interesting, well-written blog about a subject close to my heart. Wishing you both good health and happiness in 2014.

Leave a Reply

